top of page
Search

What Time Is It?



“Let lights appear in the sky to separate the day from the night. Let them be signs to make the seasons, days and years.” Gen.1:5 God created the sun, moon and stars which are used to measure time-seasons, days, years and so on. Time was created for us in our humanity to grasp the concept. Of all the things people have created to help grasp time, the clock (which represents time) is one of the most powerful. It is one of the most essential parts of our lives-from the moment we wake up until we go to bed. Clocks represent the passage of time. What about time and clocks in our spiritual lives?

There are many kinds of Christians as well as clocks. What kind of clock are you?

Grandfather clock - It goes way back in history. In its history, the working class depended upon it to keep them on time. It was a fixture for life. It was a tall standing clock. It was usually old and reliable. It ticked, always on schedule, consistent. The grandfather clock is full of rich heritage and history. It was considered faithful for time.

Is your Christian walk like a grandfather clock? Do you stand tall and have a history of being a believer? Are you old, faithful, set in your ways? Are you always on time to do what God asks?

Are you like a cuckoo clock? These clocks are usually made of sturdy wood and have carved, ornate designs (people, animals….). The famous little cuckoo bird pops out of a small door and announces the time at regular intervals.

Are you steady and sturdy in your walk? Are you busy with so many church activities that your life is described as ornate ( excessively decorated with activities)? Do you pop up at and are active at regular intervals.

Are you like a stop clock or watch? The clock is started and stopped by you pushing a button whenever you want. You feel like you are in control of time. You can take continuous measurements by a reset.

Do you run your life how you want and when you’re tired of it, you push a button and stop it? You reset and start over. You do this continuously - start, stop, start, stop…

Are you like an hour glass? Steady and boring - one grain at a time and then you flip over and start again.

Are you like a game clock? You live life to the fullest until you get your standing ovation and then start a new game?

How we spend our time, our time management, as believers, is so important. “Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of time.” Eph. 5:17 Allowing Him to do anything and all things in His time is important. “For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven.” Ecc. 3:1 The fact that time is running short before His return is important. “Behold, I am coming soon…” Rev. 22:12

With all these choices of clocks or ways to tell time, I would like to be a smart watch….

A smartwatch is a portable, modern form of a watch. Why a smartwatch you ask. A smartwatch gives us notifications to alert us of important events. In my walk, the Holy Spirit is the one to notify me and alert me to things going on in my life and around me. If I fall, and a sensor doesn’t detect any movements and I fail to respond, my watch alerts authorities on my behalf. When the Holy Spirit can’t detect any movement in my walk, He will alert “the authority” to help me.

I can have apps on my watch. Apps are dedicated to a specific purpose; usually things such as socializing, games, hiking, plant, advice, identifier apps, shopping…They are support for what i enjoy and/or I want to accomplish. Apps in my spiritual life could be worship, prayer, the Bible, ministry, service…

A smart watch can play music. I love to be able to fill my life with worship music at the touch of the screen.

A smart watch is good for fitness tracking - if you want to stay in good shape and healthy. It checks your heart rate and tracks your steps. It tracks your sleep patterns. I want the Holy Spirit to be able to track where my heart is at and make sure I’m moving at the right pace for me. I want Him to always know where my heart and spiritual health are at. I want Him to make sure I rest.

How about a GPS? It tracks your location, guides you and can keep you on track. It lets you know when you’re off track. The Holy Spirit keeps track of where I am spiritually. When I’m off track, He lets me know and gently guides me back to my path. He always knows where I am even when I am lost.

So, how does a smartwatch work? It receives data from your smart phone. some can work independently using a cellular connection or Wi-Fi to perform all functions. God and His Word are our connection or Wi-Fi. They have all the data we would ever need! I know they say the Internet is “unlimited”, but I’m not sure that it really is but, on the other hand, I do know that God is unlimited in ALL things. God and His Word is what causes all those functions in our lives to work. They are all right there, in our lives, just a touch away.

IF my smart watch doesn’t stay connected to the power source, my battery will run low or die. We eventually die if we don’t stay connected to the one who recharges us and keeps us going. God and His Word recharge us; they do NOT drain us. God’s Word is timeless.

As a smartphone I would always have the latest updates. It would allow me to be pointed towards helpful apps. It would keep my heart rate normal. It shows me which routes to take and helps me stay on track. God can do all those things and more if I am a smart phone. Even when I don’t have a clear signal, He is right there with me.

Time is important and it helps regulate our lives. Whatever clock you are, make sure it does all it needs to do in your life to keep you on time and help you make the best use of time. God is a God of all kinds of time and timing. “There is a time for everything.” Ecc. 3:1 God’s time is moving forward hour by hour and there are people who seem to think they can live by any schedule or any clock they choose (their own time). God’s time is the right time. God is changing the times and the seasons. Be alert and flexible. Know the real time and be ready!!



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page